Confessions of a hair dye addict

many heads of margot meanie

I dye my hair…a LOT.

My poor hair, it goes through torture.  I dye it a new colour almost every month, sometimes, if I’m not loving it, it can be every 2 weeks.  I try and treat it nice…other than the constant bleaching and dying routine.

I used to be a steadfast bottle black girl.  That ended when I went to the salon to have two white blonde chunky strips put in at my temples.  The bleached hair fell off at about an inch from my roots, my hair length was to the middle of my back 😦  I have since sworn off drugstore boxes of permanent colour.  It’s too hard on my hair and even worse trying to get it out (once I’ve decided I’m not into it anymore, which is inevitable).

I had done the bleaching to my hair before at home, I always did (and still do) my own hair.  I’m not sure what changed about this experience, but I decided I wanted a processional for once.  I knew how to take care of the bleach blonde hair and how to make sure the black didn’t stain it blue/grey/purple.  What I didn’t realize was the years of bottle black and salon bleach don’t mix.  The hair gods were angered!  The poor girl at the salon was freaked out.  I was freaked out.  Bad deal..  The permanent dye ended then and there.

I do still use drugstore stuff all the time, but only semi permanent for me and even then, it’s most punky’s or manic panic.  I’ve been pretty colourful for the last few years, but every once in a while I get struck with the “Back to black” itch and I grab the bottle again.  I now only use wash out black and plan to go for a darker colour once I’m getting tired of it, something like a forest green, purple, deep red or a mix of darker/intense shades.

I’m trying to grow my hair out a bit, but the constant colour changes do really hinder the growth.  I’ve been using coconut oil to help the dry ends (go easy on this stuff!) and I try to blow dry as little as possible.  I can’t keep my hands away from the straightenerthough, but I do try and use it minimally (at least…right?! right? o_O ).  Most of this has been helping.  I’ve also vowed to stick to one, darker, colour family until after x-mas (this is a HUGE commitment for me!) so that I don’t touch it with bleach for a few months.

Currently I’m rocking a peacock head, deep green, turquoise blue, magenta pink and purple (the purple is just created by overlapping the blue and pink).  I know that sounds like a lot, but it’s very pretty and since it is over all darker, I can let my roots grow out quiet a bit, with only having to touch up the fading colour with more punky’s dye, which is actually completely gentle on the hair (it’s always the getting out that is harsh)

18 months

Some of the changes in my hair over the last 18 months. (yeeesh! this isn’t even ALL of them)

kitty signature

One thought on “Confessions of a hair dye addict

Leave a Reply

