Wear to Shop // Review – ASOS Curve Fit &Flare Coat

I am a compulsive and dedicated online shopper.  Mostly because I don’t have a lot of luck finding shops in my city that cater to anyone out of the straight size box.  Luckily, the internet comes to the rescue and makes all manner of things accessible!  So I have decided to create a feature called “Wear to Shop”.  I’ll feature my go to sources for plus size clothing, as well as new treasures I find!

I recently purchased my new winter coat online, from ASOS.  It’s from their Curve line, which is generally pretty awesome.  It’s a youthful and on trend brand, which helps a lot when you are a stylish, edgy size 18.  Though they are based out of the UK, they have a really easy to use sizing chart to convert your US size to UK.  The prices are reasonable, and the quality is very good (from what I’ve had so far).  They also offer free shipping worldwide! (or expedited if you’re impatient, but honestly, last time I ordered it was here in a week and I chose the free option)  Of course, if you ever order from outside of Canada, be expected for duty & customs charges once your package is delivered (BUMMER!).

I’ve ordered a few things from ASOS before and have had some reasonable luck.  I have a larger bust, so I often size up a bit in tops and jackets to accommodate the girls which is not something I should be doing with anything from their line.  I had ordered the leather biker jacket from them last summer and ended up having to ship it back because I was swimming in it (note to self, stop sizing up when I don’t need too!).  It was such a bummer because the jacket was really beautiful, I’ve always wanted a nice, real leather jacket and the return shipping cost $75 cdn.  Ouch!

Figuring I had learned my lesson and knowing I was in need of a new a winter coat this year I took another stab at ordering a big ticket item.  They had one coat I’d had my eye on for months so I figured I’d go for it finally and just order it in the size the chart said I was.  Sadly, the jacket I loved was discontinued and sold out, but they had replaced it with a similar style, the Fit & Flare.

navfy image1xxl

image1xxl

It came in three colours and I elected for black, as per usual.  I liked the extra flare on the bottom of the coat and how it dipped lower in the back.  I figured it would be super versatile as an everyday winter coat as well as dressing up for an evening event.  Which it totally does!

navy image2xxl

Overall, I’m happy with the quality and warmth. The lining is really nice, the material does not seem like it will start to pill, I’ve been wearing mine for a month now.   But the size is again, HUGE, even though I ordered my size according to the chart.

Curvy Canadian had just posted about her fit & flare jacket in red and I asked her her thoughts and how she felt about the sizing and she said she had learned from past experiences to always size down when ordering from them.  Very interesting, since I’m so used to sizing up.

My biggest issues is how oversized it is.  According to ASOS measurement chart, I am a size 24UK, which I had ordered.   When I ordered the leather jacket in the summer, I ordered a 26.  If I order another coat or jacket from them, I will definitely order a 22 for sure!!

The sleeves are just way too big, and the straps on the sleeves are bulky and get in the way when carrying bags. I didn’t want to exchange for another size, as I mentioned above, return shipping from Canada to the UK is expensive.  I just figured I’d use that and put it towards a tailor.  The body size is large too, but since it is belted and flares so much, it’s not so noticeable when you just cinch it in tighter.  Though I will probably have some pleatsput in when I go to the tailor as well.

Review ASOS curve fit and flare | margotmeanie.com

I never seem to be able to make time with the Mister to take proper photos, so the ipad pics will have to do for now.

Review ASOS curve fit and flare | margotmeanie.com

The full skirt of this jacket is really awesome!

Right now, ASOS is having a clearance sale and the Fit & Flare is marked down!!  They are sold out of the black, but still have navy and red in stock!

kitty signature

You can always follow my pinterest boards {stylish her} for my favourite fashion pieces or {girlie} for more fashion inspiration or keep up to date with me on facebook or BeauCoo!

5 thoughts on “Wear to Shop // Review – ASOS Curve Fit &Flare Coat

  1. I bought this one too! I ADORE it. My little niece (3 and a half) said, “Auntie Karen, I love your coat because it looks like a dress!” And I pretty much responded that that’s why I love it too! Looks great on you!!!

    • I would. I first ordered a leather jacket from them, since I was nervous, I ordered a size up and I was swimming in it. So when I ordered this, I ordered my correct size and its massive on me. I can easily over lap the jacket four to five inches from wear the buttons lay, and the sleeves are very bulky.

Leave a Reply

