Friday I’m In Love #21 // Vivian Maier

I finally was able to attend a screening of Finding Vivian Maier at my favourite local theatre, The Rio.

I’m really happy to finally have seen this.  I’ve been in love with her photos since I first saw them a few years ago.  When I found out about the documentary, I was really excited and hopeful it would eventually come here.

As I said, I really love her photos.  I’m in love with the framing and contrast.  I love the glamorous vs the grimy and I love her interest in mundane details, which seem to be the same things I feel I’m drawn to photograph when I’m walking about.

Her photos seem to capture the moment so perfectly and tell a story in each frame.

The movie was beautiful, both inspiring at times and terribly sad at others.  I loved the passion the director took in trying to figure out this puzzle, as she was indeed a puzzle.  A self described “Mystery Lady”.  Ultimately, it was a heartbreaking story, but one I am still happy to have watched.

Here are a few of my favourite photos that I’m familiar with, I hope to see more and more of her work as it gets processed and published.

Vivian Maier, Undated, New York, NYVivian Maier, 1955, New York, NY  Vivian Maier, UndatedVivian Maier, Undated  Vivian Maier, 1954, New York, NY  Vivian Maier, August 22, 1956. Chicago, ILVivian Maier, January 1956Vivian Maier, 1953, New York, NYVivian Maier, January 9, 1957, FloridaVivian Maier, Self Portrait, Undated

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do.   I’m sure she would hate all the attention she is now getting, but I’m happy her photos are getting the notoriety they deserve.  They have certainly served as inspiration!

I’m now hunting for a Rolleiflex to use.  I miss walking around snapping shots.

kitty signature

pinterest // instagram // facebook // beaucoo // bloglovin’ // tumblr // plus fashion bloggers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Friday I’m In Love #21 // Vivian Maier

Leave a Reply

