365

Today is my blogiversary!!

I started my blogging journey 365 days ago with my very first post being about a Harry Potter party I hosted!

9 3/4  entry

{my original blog name was a bit of a mouthful }

It’s been a crazy journey so far and it’s only been one year!  So much has happened, I’ve learned so much and made so many new friends!

Why did I start blogging in the first place?  What were my goals?  My aspirations and hopes for this place to become?

I wanted to start a lifestyle blog and become an alternative Martha Stewart mixed with fashion, or something to that measure.  I wanted to share ideas on hosting parties, craft beer, mixed drinks,  food, restaurants, local events, tattoos, make up, traveling, the whole lot.

Eventually it became far too overwhelming for me and I felt scattered, so I began to focus on a few topics instead.

beerfest at home

{from an early entry “how to host a beerfest at home” really, it’s just a clever party idea to drink lots of beer & eat fondue!}

I wanted something that I could grow in to a business.

I’ve always worked for other people, helping their businesses grow when all I’ve ever wanted was to work for myself and a blog seemed like a perfect starting point.

I  also stuck in a rut.

I had been working in a tattoo shop for years and was constantly surrounded by amazing and talented artists, but I let it get into my head that I wasn’t as talented and I stopped creating.  This space gave me a new creative outlet that I was desperately in need of and the confidence to get back to being creative!

I will always be grateful for all I learned there.   I met some important people in my life {seriously go check out my bestie, Amanda Meowzen she’s crazy talented} It was a sad day when the shop closed and we all headed in our own directions.

I must also sheepishly, admit to some narcissistic motives as well.  I wanted to be one of those stylish girls I saw everyday on pinterest! But I also wanted to share any and all knowledge I had about obtaining fashionable, plus size clothing in Canada.  I wanted to make other women feel beautiful & empowered and to encourage them to play with fashion on their own terms.

Lime Crime Velvetine Review | margotmeanie

When I began, I read so many blogs about blogging it made my head spin.  But, as I went along, I started learning the ropes and finding my voice.  I eventually found my focus, and realised I didn’t need a million blogs telling me how run my to blog.

When I go back and read my first entries now I’m jarred by how I would write, like I’m trying to write a catalogue or something.  It wasn’t me, I was pretending to be a fake version of myself in order to make my blog look professional or to sell myself as someone you would want to follow.  What a silly thing, and it wasn’t making me happy.

Slowly, I let this place become me.  I feel comfortable here and I find that I’ve gotten the most rewards for being just me, which is reward in itself.

Margot Meanie

margot meanie // windy city - modcloth

This year has been what I would call a success.

I have made new friends around the globe {I can’t wait to travel and meet them all in person some day!!}.

I work with two blogging groups to keep our creative juices flowing for monthly challenges. We also support each other when we’re feeling down or if we need advice.

I’ve won contests and been gifted clothing items.  I’ve been featured by amazing, successful and supportive bloggers on very respected blogs {zaftig times, my curves & curls, extra large as life & Haute Macabre}, and I’ve made it into two digital magazines {Dare & Bustle}.

I’ve been interviewed by the lovely Lindsay, shop owner of Bad Luxe Boutique, for her shop blog.

And I started a hashtag, #alternativecurves, which has blossomed into both an amazingly supportive community of alternative plus size babes on instagram , and also a blog hop for alternative and quirky style bloggers!  {keep your eyes peeled next week, it’s out first challenge!}

margot meanie

 

margot meanie on Bustle

These are the lessons I’ve learned through my first year of blogging:

  • bloggers are amazingly supportive!
  • be yourself, there is no good reason not to be.  People want to get to know you!
  • keep writing, your voice will come through eventually.  I find it easy to just think I’m talking to one person.
  • read other blogs!!  And comment on them!  Don’t be shy, I was painfully shy when I started, but no one will know you’re there reading if you don’t chime into the conversation! After a while, they’ll be curious who you are and look into your blog.
  • it may seem lonely at first, but you’ll find friends…fast!! Just remember to comment!
  • try keeping to a schedule if you can, but if you’re just not feeling it, it’s ok not to post.
  • don’t apologize for not posting! It’s your blog, you post when you want to.  Your readers are not waiting with bated breath to hear from you, but they will be happy when they do get something up!
  • it’s also ok to change your blog!!  Whether it be the look, theme, focus.  This is who you are, you’re figuring it out, you have time to play around and find your comfort zone.
  • block out the haters, if you get any, delete their comments and go about your day.  But if you do receive negative feedback, keep this in mind; it means people are taking notice of you!!
  • You will always get way more love through blogging than hate, don’t let that hold you back!

This community has been a beautiful thing to be a part of! It’s been such a rad ride so far and I can’t wait to see where the next year will take me!

Thank you all so much for following me!  

kitty signature

 

 instagram //  facebook //  bloglovin’ // tumblr  // pinterest  // twitter // #alternativecurves

 

// 365 // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

 

19 thoughts on “365

  1. Well done! Happy Anniversary! It isn’t easy and its a lot of work and your blog is fabulous. I totally relate to the alt Martha Stewart thing by the way and HAVE to checkout the Beerfest post for sure! You are gorgeous and stylish and a force to be reckoned with. See you on Pinterest woman! xoxo

  2. Happy very belated blogoversary! It was great to read your story. I think all bloggers who share fashion/beauty etc are somewhat narcissistic. I admit I am a bit of a vanity blogger, but it’s more about wanting to help others. You are one of my fave blogs to follow, I LOVE your style so much.

  3. Congrats on your blogiversary! I literally JUST found your blog, but I look forward to reading more. I’m a newbie blogger (just started on May 30th), so it’s nice to read your thoughts on evolving with your blog, and the great things that can come from blogging. Viva la blog!

  4. Pingback: twenty fourteen: a love letter…of sorts | Margot Meanie

Leave a Reply

