outfit | sweater weather

sweater weather // alternative plus size fashion // margot meanie

Hello! How are you doing?

I’ve been awful sluggish lately.  The rain has been getting me down a bit as of late.  I also had a massive fail with getting proper photos of my Hallowe’en costume and only got one photo.

Add a wee bit of a Hallowe’en hangover, both a literal hangover on the Saturday a mental hangover of just being sad my favourite time of year has come and gone, has all lead to Miss Meanie being in a bummer mood.

“blerg” has been my overall feeling.  But I’m going to try and kick that in the pants.

Friday ended up being a really lovely Autumn day so I ventured out with a friend to go thrifting.

Holy Moly, did I have luck!

I went in with a strict budget and in order to stick to it, which I did, I had to put SO much back. It killed me a little bit as there was some amazing stuff.  But I was still really pleased with what I brought home.

One of the items being a vintage fur collar, {fur is a tricky thing, as I will wear it, but only second hand.  I’m not really sure if that makes it any better but I like to think at least I am enjoying it rather than it going into the garbage as waste} I also got a really amazing macrame black scarf with 3D pink roses and the mustard satchel you see in these photos! {though I removed the big gold knocker embellishment once I got in the house}

sweater weather // alternative plus size fashion // margot meanie

I tried downloading a new app on my ipad mini {which I use to take 99% of my outfit photos}.  I’m constantly running back and forth setting the timer.  It’s a pain and makes getting photos take much more time than it should.  I often fancy on getting a remote, but then I think if I’m going to invest in a remote, wouldn’t I want to invest on a remote for an awesome camera?! {which is always on my list of big items I will purchase if I ever encounter a windfall}

The app name is called “Wave Cam” and it costs $0.99.  It’s a pretty good concept for an app, as you just have to trigger the camera countdown by waving or creating motion in the upper corner where there is a hand icon.  It has some really cheesy sound effects including a “photographer” giving you instruction, which is honestly pretty amusing, like  “how about you give me your nerd face”… seriously, it says that!

I found using the app really easy and was stoked to see the photos once done.

The bummer aspect is that it uses the front camera which is not as high quality.  And for whatever reason, I find that using apps to control my camera, the quality is even lower.   Before the iso 8 update had introduced the timer I had another downloaded app that gave me a countdown, but the quality was always lower, even with using the proper camera.  *sigh*

So, I’m not super pleased with these photos.  They are grainy and lack detail.  Blerg.

sweater weather // alternative plus size fashion // margot meanie

Anyways, on to outfit details!

I was really happy with this outfit, it was dark and Autumnal but was not lacking colour.  I liked combining the green, burgundy and mustard tones with a black backbone and a freakin dark purple lip. which is just my favourite thing ever right now!

This gorgeous teal green crop sweater was gifted from  a friend.  Sadly, I do not know the label.  I am also wearing a black bodycon dress from Old Navy underneath, I  hike it up with the use of a belt as I like my skirts short short! The purse was a freshly purchased thrifting find for just $6!  My burgundy gloves are vintage and my necklace is a raw chunk of amber which also echoed the mustard of the purse.

The tights are kind of a hack.  When the two toned tights started coming in last year, where they look like stay ups under nylons, I fell in love.  I ordered a pair of suspender stockings from ASOS and wore them immediately, sadly, they also developed a run immediately in the thinner part on the thighs.  I was so sad, I still wore them a few more times, but the chub rub became excruciating.  So I cut the opaque part off and turned them into tall socks, but they wouldn’t stay up alone, so I figured, recreate the look I loved by wearing the tall socks underneath a pair of semi sheer tights and voila!  The same look and no runs!  I did have problems keeping the sock part up on my thigh, they wanted to rest just below my knees, but I figure sock glue of body tape will fix that next time I rock this look!

kitty signature

 

 instagram //  facebook //  bloglovin’ // tumblr  // pinterest  // twitter // #alternativecurves

 

// sweater weather // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

 

8 thoughts on “outfit | sweater weather

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been a bit blergh, I can TOTALLY relate to the post Halloween blues. I’ve been feeling it too. You look gorgeous in these photos, even if they are a bit grainy – it kind of adds to that atmospheric autumnal feel. Your seasons look just phenomenal, and as I’m heading into summer I am TOTES ENVY. I want winter back already. Also, I think secondhand fur is totally fine and agree that it’s only going to end up as landfill if it doesn’t get used. xx

    • It’s a bummer isn’t it? Why does Hallowe’en have to end and x-mas marketing and planning have to be hot on it’s heels?!
      Our Autumn has been lovely, though a bit wet. the rain hasn’t helped my mood much either. Which doesn’t normally bug me, but I guess because I need dry weather to take outfit photos I get down.
      Speaking of seasons, it’s still a mind warp to think your Hallowe’en is in the spring and x-mas in the summer. Of course it’s natural to you, but I have to admit of not thinking worldly with things like that until I started making friends globally through blogging!

Leave a Reply

