outfit | young girls, they do get weary

Canadian alternative plus size blogger, MArgot Meanie in Missguided, Addition Elle & f21+

I posted on facebook about how much I adore the 80’s movie Pretty in Pink and how much it has { and continues to } influenced my personal style.

I like to think there is no single character that speaks to my style senses more than any other and though I thoroughly enjoy everyone’s style so very much I just can’t help but fall head over heels for Duckie, his style { and character } is my fav.

I was extremely fortunate to win a gift certificate from The Curvy Fashionista’s 6 year anniversary giveaway month, back in December.  She had so many giveaways that month, it was amazing, she spoiled everyone rotten.  I was lucky to snap up one of six gc’s to Missguided.

I had a hard time choosing what to spend my winnings on, especially with their lovely new plus size range, but I settled on only one item from the plus range, as these shoes won my heart instantly.

The love I have for these shoes…they are just so killer cool, with their patent leather shininess, pointed toe, gold buckles and subtle platform….I just knew Duckie would approve!

Canadian alternative plus size blogger, MArgot Meanie in Missguided, Addition Elle & f21+

Canadian alternative plus size blogger, MArgot Meanie in Missguided, Addition Elle & f21+{  jacket – Missguided | shoes – Missguided | jeans – f21+, sold out | sweater – Addition Elle, sold out }

My second item was this really cute cropped tartan jacket.  I ordered it in a size up as I wanted to be able to layer with it, and I’ve happy I did.  Though with sizing up, it’s not as cropped as I hoped it would be.  But, happily, I am able to do some tailoring myself and plan on taking about 2-2.5″ off the bottom so it hits where I want it to.

I’m also rocking some older jeans I picked up from f21 maybe last year or the year before.  I wasn’t getting a lot of wear out of them recently, but then I decided to rip out the knees and I can’t stop wearing them now!

And lastly, this sweater is my boyfriend sweater that I won from PS it’s Fashions give away from a few months back, I already featured it here.  I just love this sweater and I don’t know how this escaped my notice, as I  have been wearing it constantly since it has arrived, but while sitting in the pub with my sister in law one afternoon, about a week ago maybe, I realised it has elbow patches!!

I ♥ elbow patches.

They are the same material and not contrasted, so I guess that’s why I hadn’t noticed before, but boy, did I feel like a dunce!

What are some of your biggest style influences?  Does it come from movies, music, magazines, bloggers?  Let me know as I would love to see!

 

kitty signature

 instagram //  facebook //  bloglovin’ // tumblr  // pinterest  // twitter // #alternativecurves

{ outfit }  young girls, they do get weary // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

oh and here’s a little Duckie and the reason for the blog title….

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “outfit | young girls, they do get weary

  1. My style is so messed up right now.. not necessarily in a bad way, but I have no idea where it’s going and my whole closet has been in flux for a couple years now.
    but, I think my style inspirations right now could be described as Tilda Swinton meets Christina Hendricks.. if that makes any sort of sense.
    ❤ love your style, and it's kind of cool to see a canadian west-coast fashion blogger

    • oooh, excellent style influencers! I adore them both! I kinda really dig when there is a juxtaposition in style influences, it really stretches our fashion and styling muscles! I am constantly in flux between wanting to be a minimalist and an over accessorizer! haha!
      Thank you so much! I don’t know of many of us, well, particularly of the “plus size” and “inbetweenie” variety here. I’ve found a few stright size bloggers though lookbook though.

      • Yeah, I love contrast in pretty much everything. I use to be more directly inspired by scifi and characters in Farscape like Chiana and Zhaan.
        I know the struggle with minimalism. I’m not really too much of an accessory gal, but I really like mixing prints and wearing too many layers which feels weird because I’m at my biggest right now and it draws a lot of attention to that.
        Once I get a better camera setup/new phone or something I might join the ranks!

        ^.^

    • That bag is a thrift store gem, I had to remove a big chunky metal gaudy thing, but it was $6!! Total score!!

      Thank you! I actually have an even better Duckie version of this look, but I had worn it twice this week already and this was an impromptu photo shoot before brunch on Sunday, so I went with it!

      I ❤ The Duck man!!

  2. Pingback: { coveting } black & white | Margot Meanie

  3. I love Pretty in Pink, Andie is responsible for me wanting red hair for most of my life!! The shoes are deffo Duckie shoes and Andie would totally have worn that jacket, probably with a cute hat. I try and get my influences everywhere art, film, music and style blogs. i don’t know if it alwyas works!

  4. Pingback: alternativecurves | alter ego | Margot Meanie

Leave a Reply

