outfit | bold

Happy April!!!

I simply adore April, there are flowers popping up everywhere, all the green is returning to barren branches, the days are getting longer and brighter, and there is the promise of lazy days spent outside with friends and drinks.

April is also my birth month and my birthday is only ten days away!! EEEP!

So I’m gonna shake things up with something a little different, I’m going to do a series on how to style a tutu leading up to my birthday.

Today I am featuring COLOUR!  Like, there is almost zero black, so this is definitely a shake up!

Cool Gal x Zelie for She | margot meanie - alternative plus size style

Cool Gal x Zelie for She | margot meanie - alternative plus size style

I was gifted this A-MA-ZING tulle tutu from that lovely gals over at Cool Gal clothing { you may remember me featuring their Valentine lookbook back in Feb }.

This first look popped right into my head when I saw the length of the skirt.  It screamed “pair me with a crop top!”, though in all honestly, I want to pair almost everything with a crop top.

When it was sent to me, I was told it was long and that other bloggers had DIY’d & customized it for themselves.  But I really wanted to feature how beautiful it is in it’s full length before I took the scissors to it.

Cool Gal x Zelie for She | margot meanie - alternative plus size styleColl Gal x Zelie for She | margot meanie - alternative plus size styleCool Gal x Zelie for She | margot meanie - alternative plus size style

blazer – f21+ | top – Zelie for She | tulle skirt – c/o Cool Gal clothing | lips – Lime Crime

{ top & blazer are from last year }

I elected to over accessorize with bright chunky bangles and a bright blue, shiny, skinny belt to polish the waistband, I added my teal blazer for some structure { and a layer as it’s not warm enough for just the crop yet } a black lace statement necklace & a bright red lip.

I won this top from Zelie for She on an instagram contest along with some other really amazing items { remember my black rose dress, I can’t wait for summer so I can bring it back out of the closet!! }.  I really loved this top when it arrived, but had yet to reconcile how to work it into my wardrobe. This was a fun experiment in wearing it and now I have a few other ideas on how I’ll try it as the summer approaches.

This tutu is really versatile, I’ve now chopped it to a tea length, but I think it could be used at any length as a really great piece in a prom or wedding dress.  Imagine it styled with a gorgeous lace or sequins top…ugh, so amazing and affordable!!

Keep your eye out  later this week for this tutu styled a completely different way and a new length!

You can check the other outfits in my “how to rock a tutu” series here”

kitty signature

 instagram | facebook |  bloglovin’ | tumblr  | pinterest  | twitter | #alternativecurves

{ outfit } Bold // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

 

19 thoughts on “outfit | bold

  1. Pingback: { outfit } classic | Margot Meanie

  2. Pingback: { outfit } grunge x glam | Margot Meanie

  3. Pingback: Plaid, Tulle and more Plaid  | Curves Become Her

  4. Pingback: announcement | #coolgalMargot | Margot Meanie

Leave a Reply

