outfit | to the maxi

I just have to take a moment and praise the wonderfulness that is the maxi dress!!

Maxi dresses are truly a blessing, especially as the summertime heat starts rolling in. Not only are they fashionable and chic, but they are comfortable as all hell and versatile to boot! You can go from beach day to wedding night with the right maxi dress and feel like you’re cheating the whole time because you will be so damn comfortable!

margot meanie | to the maxi margot meanie | to the maximargot meanie | to the maximargot meanie | to the maxi

maxi – Ross {old} | flip flops – superstore for $2 last summer | denim vest – old navy

This is not a new maxi for me, this one has been in my arsenal for a few years now. I picked it up in a Ross when I was down in Portland { ..or maybe Seattle?? } and have loved it to pieces since. It’s been worn braless to just kick around the house, it’s been worn to picnics and backyard BBQ’s and yes, it has been worn to a wedding!

I adore the print, it’s one of the few items I own with a print, it has some amazingly placed pleats under the bust that make this dress drape uber flatteringly over wide hips and tummy’s alike and IT. HAS. POCKETS!! Every dress and every pair of pants, should have pockets! I mean, look how excited we get every time….and not fake teeny tiny pockets, real ones, that we can put stuff into!!

Back to the dress though….It all has to do with how you style it up. Flip flops and a denim vest says, super casual afternoon walk about. A pashmina, some bangles and a nice sandal can say summer time wedding! BOOM!

I do admit, I am a bit modest with my chest. It’s honestly my biggest insecurity. I hate how out there & in your face the girls always are, so I elect to wear a bandeau or tube top underneath anything with a plunging neckline purely for my own comfort. This dress really does look stellar without the bandeau as well and I think this neckline looks fab on everyone, as I said, just my own damn insecurities getting in the way.

So since I can’t link to this dress, I decided I would do a round up of some of my current fav maxis out on the market, ranked from most affordable to most expensive { hey, we can dream, right?! }

shopping guide | to the maxi

I know I’m going to start sounding like a broken record, but I’d just die of excitement if you signed up for my newsletter! { okay, I won’t die, but every time one of you signs up, I do a lil happy dance and squee!! } It will be a monthly round up of what I’ve been up to all around the interwebs as well as items I find fascinating and if special promotions, announcements or collaborations are in the works, you will be the FIRST to know!

PS…here’s some bonus selfies of my husband and I while out and about for Victoria Day, we had screamers and sat in the park listening to music! Here;s hoping my American friends have a stellar Memorial Day long weekend coming up!

The Meanies

kitty signature

 instagram | facebook |  bloglovin’ | tumblr  | pinterest  | twitter | #alternativecurves

outfit | to the maxi  // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

7 thoughts on “outfit | to the maxi

  1. I am 5’2 but I adore maxidresses, so I said F it. A measuring tape has become my best friend, when I order I check the length and then subtract two inches for the girls which are an F. If its not skimming the floor on a tall model, I know it will probably work. Also, Fullbeauty has some of theirs in petite length.
    And I wanted to leave a link for dresses similar to this for those dying to own it like me.
    http://www.fullbeauty.com/clothing/Black-Must-Be-Maxi-Dress.aspx?PfId=472659&DeptId=19600&ProductTypeId=1&ppos=72&Splt=0#.VVyfzob3arU

    http://www.fullbeauty.com/clothing/Do-It-Right-Maxi-Dress.aspx?PfId=455823&DeptId=19600&ProductTypeId=1&ppos=115&Splt=0#.VVyir4b3arU

  2. First of all– you and the hubby are mega adorable!!! okay now that I’m done gushing…I have so much love for the maxi. Not a lot of fuss, just throw it on and you are good to go. My only problem is finding a good length. Its either too long or too short but when the length is right, yeah baby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

