untamed style | zodiac fashion

I am so so so late in posting this! I inadvertently took a wee break from blogging after all the excitement from the Cool Gal Blue collection launch last week! {which, btw, was a huge success! Thank you to everyone who ordered pieces, I cannot wait to see you all in your items! Some items are selling out, but there are a few pieces left in different sizes, so go check it out! Oh and please, make sure to tag me and use the hashtag #coolgalMargot to show up in me feed on the the cool gal site! }

It just so happens that last week while I was busy with all the hub bub of clothing excitement, I was also due to participate in a fun group post with my #untamedstyle sisters!

This months theme was Zodiac Fashion and I have to admit to being a little stumped when thinking of how to put together an outfit with my sign in mind.  I am an Aries and on every site I read they mentioned “red”, “warrior queens”, “diva” and other signifiers I just didn’t feel in line with. But one word kept popping up, on almost every site I visited to gain inpso from and that word was “bold”, and that is one word I definitely do identify with.

Something you may not know about me, but I am actually very shy in person, especially when meeting for the first time. I think that by making bold statements with my clothing choices it can act as an icebreaker. It gives me something to talk about that is on my terms and is a topic I like to speak about passionately. So it can really help and put me at ease.

But at the same time, I can wear a bold outfit like armour, it will build my confidence and make me feel imposing to those I do not wish to interact with. it’s amazing how you can keep some at bay with a strong outfit and a bit of resting bitch face.

So today, I am sharing a bold outfit I wore to the Horse Track on the day of the Belmont Stakes.  I like the idea that people will dress up for the track, especially on special race days. It gives ladies a chance to dress up and don fancy hats or fun fascinators. It’s optimal people watching, especially whilst hiding behind gigantic sunnies!

{ it was a tad windy and my fascinator was blowing in weird shapes, I kinda have a summer witch look gong on here! hehe! the bottom photos show how the fascinator usually sits. }

dressed for the horse track | margot meanie - rebellious plus size style dressed for the horse track | margot meanie - rebellious plus size style dressed for the horse track | margot meanie - rebellious plus size style

hat – DIY | dress – Zelie for She {last year} | shorts – Cool Gal Blue | sandals – thrifted

I made this fascinator only an hour before we left for the afternoon.  I’ve had the idea kicking around in the back of my mind for a few months now and I *may* be a bit of a fabric hoarder, so I have lots of interesting bits laying about waiting to be turned into something fun and fabulous!

This dress is by Zelie for She, this one is from last year, but she has similar styles in right now, but they are full of tropical colour, perfect for summer time! { ooh, check out Cynthia from flight of the fat girl’s post in her Zelie dress!! *swoons!* }

A neighbour had made mention of how hot it was out and how I must be cooking dressed in head to toes black, but in all honestly, I wasn’t dying in the heat whatsoever. This dress is completely breezy and I was wearing my cool gal black lace shorts underneath with an old tube top.  It was the epitome of comfort meets glamour and I was really feeling it!

And since I was wearing so much black, I decided to go light and fun with my makeup. Bright yellow and pink eyeshadows, paired with my pink velvetine lipstick from Lime Crime and a shimmering highlight powder by Nars made for a playful summer make up.

Oh! You may have noticed my hair is now pink!! If you follow me on instagram then you’ve already seen me take photos of the process! I will be making a full post about dying my hair at some point in the near future!

…aaaand, I’m trying to snapchat too! { my user name is ‘mewmewmeanie’ }

mewmewmeanie on snapchat

 

You can check out how all the ladies involved in #untamedstyle and how they each interpreted their style and zodiac signs here:

zadry curves a la mode michelle zaftig times cid style files vanessa sweetleigh Pia mixed fat chick

kitty signature

 instagram | facebook |  bloglovin’ | tumblr  | pinterest | #alternativecurves

untamed style | zodiac fashion // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

 

10 thoughts on “untamed style | zodiac fashion

  1. Pingback: Hey Virgo! | Curves à la Mode

  2. Pingback: The Priestess of Whispering Fire | S w e e t L e i g h

Leave a Reply

