alternativecurves | alter ego

Hello! Long time no blog!

I inadvertently took most of July off from the blog. I was everywhere else online, just not here. I’ve had a slew of plans and trips and it left me with no time to catch up on everything I wanted to blog about.I guess that’s Summer telling me to get outsde and off the computer!

I do want to thank you all for the absolutely astounding support for my last two blog posts, “Plus Size Swimwear & “A Plus Girls Guide to Wearing Crop Tops: 5 ways to introduce crop tops to your wardrobe

I return to you today with my entry for my beloved AlternativeCurves blog hop!

If you don’t know what that is, let me tell you! Alternativecurves was a hashtag I founded on instagram as an open call to find other alternative, off beat and non mainstream fashion existing on plus size and inbetweenie bodies.  It caught on like wild fire with the help of Kobi from Horror Kitsch Bitch. She encouraged me to expand and offered help in anyway possible. With that, I created a community based instagram account and Kobi initiated the alternativecurves blog hop in an effort to bring alternative bloggers around the globe together!

If you are a blogger and interested in joining us, feel free to join our facebook group or follow alternativecurves on instagram!

Now to this months theme: Alter Ego.

I was pretty excited by this months theme and have been aching to get photos done all month. I just finally was able to have a day to get this all together right before the hop closes, in 13 hours! PHEW!

I have been described as a “style chameleon”, so with that I suppose comes with many alter egos. So today I have decided to share 4 of my most favourite alter egos that you will see exist in my everyday style. Without further ado, here are my alter egos

The Witch

alter ego "the witch" | Margot Meanie alternative plus size blogger

To me, everyday is an opportunity to celebrate Hallowe’en. It’s my favourite holiday of the year. It’s spooky and creepy and is littered with magic, mystery and supernatural.

But its not just about Hallowe’en either. I was raised in a house that had crystals, tarot, ruins, pendulums and more. So I have always had a deep fondness for witches in general and the aura of mystery, healing arts and everyday magic is immensely appealing to me.

I do admit to being a skeptic as well , but I remain with an open mind to all the possibilities out there. Why close any one idea out completley? I would say I am half Mulder and half Scully.

Duckie

alter ego "Duckie" | Margot Meanie alternative plus size blogger

I’ve mentioned this many times before, but I’ll say it again. I LOVE Duckie!

Duckie is from one of my favourite movies from the 80’s, Pretty in Pink. I generally love all of the fashion from that movie, but Duckie reigns supreme! Head to toe, Duckie has flare and a master of layering.

He makes me wish I had a bolero tie! But I finally got my mitts on some rad platform pointed toe brogues late last year to emulate his worn in pointed creepers! I am one happy girl!

The Flapper

alter ego "the flapper" | Margot Meanie alternative plus size blogger

Flappers hold a special place in my heart. Mostly because deep down, below my social anxiety, is a party girl! If you were to ask my my ideal night out, it would be dressed to the nines, bopping around hotel bars getting fancy cocktails and then retiring to a friends home to dance the night away til dawn with just a small group.

I love drinking bubbly and mixing old fashioned cocktails, I love dramatic make up and wearing a garçonne silhouette on my extremely curvy frame! Flappers always know where the party is, because they are a party unto themselves!

Wednesday Addams

alter ego "Wednesday Addams" | Margot Meanie alternative plus size blogger

Oh, I just can’t help myself. When I was younger, I wanted to grow up to be Morticia Addams, she was so elegant. But in truth, I ended up more like Wednesday and I am perfectly fine with that. I guess it also stems from the fact I just never want to grow up and also that creepy macabre things amuse me.

I know “the witch” and Wednesday may seem similar, but I find the witch to be more serious, more mysterious, more supernatural. Where Wednesday is a tad more playful, with nods to childhood and playing with creepy crawlies, skulls and bat toys.

So there you have it, 4 of my “alter ego’s” so to speak. I think I have many others, there’s “the fan girl“, “the minimalist“, hell, “the maximalist“, “Edina Monsoon“, “the riot grrrl” really, the list could go on, but perhaps those will be future blogs all on their own.

Who is your alter ego? I would love to hear!

And please, check out the other babes participating in this months blog hop!

alter ego hop

 

kitty signature

 instagram | facebook |  bloglovin’ | tumblr  | pinterest | #alternativecurves

alternativecurves | alter ego // appeared first on margotmeanie.com

 

6 thoughts on “alternativecurves | alter ego

  1. Gorgeous looks! As someone who has also been called a style chameleon, this is a great idea. Big fan of Duckie too!!!

  2. Eeeee I love all of these looks! Massive high fives to all the style chameleons out there, and I totally agree there is quite a difference between Wednesday and a witch – I feel Wednesday is more like a homicidal pixie hehe 😉

Leave a Reply

